Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
12

Dairy-Free Tex-Mex Mac and Cheese

a gluten-free Hamburger Helper copycat!
12

Did anyone else grow up with at least 5 boxes of Hamburger Helper in their pantry? If you did, you will love this dairy-free Tex-Mex Mac and Cheese.

Some of my earliest meals came from Hamburger Helper, with Stroganoff being a favorite and one of the very first dinners I learned to cook. It inspired both of my Stroganoff recipes (Meals Made Simple, page 150, and Healthy in a Hurry, page 221).

Leave a comment

Tex-Mex Mac & Cheese (dairy and grain-free!)

I’ve now also recreated their Creamy Nacho Pasta, using my “Skillet Queso”—a vegetable-based sauce. This beloved sauce is used a few times in my newest cookbook - Make It Easy - and this particular quick one pot pasta combines the queso with my Taco Seasoning, ground beef or turkey, pasta, and salsa. For a quicker option, use Siete’s queso and add the meat and seasoning!

The sauce is already made almost completely of vegetables, but to sneak in extra veggies and fiber for kids, add diced bell peppers, kale, or jicama. Layer them on top of the queso in the Instant Pot, and everything cooks together. A half avocado on top adds 7g of fiber as well!

Share Make It Good with Danielle Walker

If you loved my “Magic Meatball Pasta”, you must try my Instant Pot Tex Mex Mac & Cheese from Make It Easy on September 10!! It’s ready in just 5 minutes after reaching pressure.

Paid subscribers- you’re getting the recipe below plus some extra tips and stovetop instructions that aren’t in the book 3 weeks early!


For $5 a month (or discounted if you choose the annual subscription!), I email you 1 brand new exclusive recipe every Thursday! You’ll also unlock a dozen long form cooking tutorial videos, all the recipe archives, deeply personal health updates, private chats and q&as, and access to this amazing community!


Unlocked recipes for free subscribers!


Adrenal Support Supplement - with the chaos that is launching a book and going back to school (oh and replanning an entire tour alone HA), I reached out to my doctor and asked about a supplement that can help support my adrenals. I started taking this one about a month ago and really noticed a difference.

Foaming Facial Cleanser - with Beautycounter temporarily shut down, I searched for a new facial cleanser and have enjoyed this one. It leaves my skin feeling clean and hydrated.

Mini Set of Non Toxic Cookware - Easton has been loving making his own scrambled eggs, grain-free quesadillas, and reheating pasta lately (he’s my little chef!), so I wanted a smaller set of my usual non toxic cookware for him to use and clean more easily. I’ve also found myself grabbing it to reheat a small lunch, poach an egg, or fry up a single egg! Plus it’s SO pretty.

Armpit (yep!) Detox Clay - Ok real moment here that I know you ALL can relate to. My natural deodorant seemed to just stop working this summer. It was 110F and it just wasn’t cutting it. I read that this clay plus a little apple cider vinegar can help reset your pits and allow the non toxic deodorant to start working again, and it worked!


This is an exclusive preview of my new cookbook Make It Easy for paid members. Download and print the PDF recipes below, and continue scrolling here for links to my favorite ingredients, plus bonus tips, stove-top instructions, and shortcuts that are not included in the book!

Dairy Free Tex-Mex Mac & Cheese

Servings 4 to 6

TOOLS

This post is for paid subscribers