Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
4

A Conversation : Pregnancy and Infant Loss

With grief expert and therapist Claire Bidwell Smith. And me. A bereaved mother.
4

In grief, friends become strangers; and strangers become friends.”

Recognized as one of today’s foremost experts on grief, Claire Bidwell Smith is a licensed therapist, international speaker, and the author of five books published in 22 countries. Led by her own experience in grief and fueled by her work in hospice and private practice, Claire strives to provide support for all kinds of people experiencing all kinds of loss. See all of Claire’s books and learn more about her important work at www.clairebidwellsmith.com.

Claire and I crossed paths at a gathering a couple of months ago. During her session with fellow therapist and New York Times bestselling author of “Maybe You Should Talk to Someone,” Lori Gottlieb, I found myself deeply moved by Claire's profound insight into grief and loss. Later that day, I mustered the courage to introduce myself, sharing with her the painful truth that Ryan and I had lost our precious daughter a decade ago.

Her response was immediate and heartfelt.

“What is her name?”

Her question reflected a depth of understanding that resonated with my own grief. And that was music to my bereaved mother heart.

As Claire and I exchanged DMs and emails in the days that followed, we found a shared purpose in sharing our experiences, hoping to provide comfort to families enduring the loss of a child.

A decade has slipped away in the blink of an eye. I consider it ten years closer to the hope cradling Aila again in my arms. Yet, these past ten years have also been a journey of yearning and grappling with the void she left behind. Along the way, I've gleaned countless lessons while navigating life with my three children, prioritizing my marriage, and steadfastly honoring her enduring legacy.

Guiding others through their own paths of loss has unfolded as an unexpected, bittersweet privilege. Each shared story serves as a poignant reminder of the universal nature of grief, offering a gift of insight to provide solace and hope for those who journey alongside me.

Recently, Claire visited my home for a deeply personal conversation about my experience and what I wish I knew ten years ago. Together, we filmed our discussion, hoping to offer a beacon of comfort and understanding to others treading a similar path or seeking ways to support those who have experienced the profound loss of a baby.

We talk through:

  • Surviving the deeply dark days

  • Grieving with younger children present

  • Therapy and its role

  • Changes in brain chemistry, and its impact with social repercussions of lost friendships and feeling disconnected or isolated

  • Anxiety as a side effect of grief

  • Unexpected occurrences that often aren’t talked about but would be helpful to know for a mother who has recently lost a newborn or late term pregnancy loss

  • Establishing a legacy in memory of your baby

  • Men and grief, and how to avoid collapse in the aftermath

  • Dos and don'ts for supporting a grieving friend

    • How to avoid platitudes and well meaning, but hurtful, comments

    • What to do or say instead

I hope this conversation brings you comfort and awareness. Please forward it on to someone who may need it.

with love,

and with so much grace and love for you who are hurting,

Danielle

Claire has a new Child Loss Support Group that is beginning on September 6. 

Register Here

If you are new around here and would like to learn more about our daughter, Aila Jane, please see the below articles and videos:

  1. https://againstallgrain.com/2014/07/02/aila-jane-walker/

  2. https://againstallgrain.com/2014/07/24/life-after-aila/

  3. https://www.today.com/parents/grateful-time-we-were-given-emotional-delivery-room-photos-help-1d80133990

  4. https://www.today.com/parents/faith-instead-fear-danielle-walkers-journey-pregnancy-after-child-loss-t34351


Other Resources and Helpful Tools

4 Comments