Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
7

Belle’s Battle with Neuroblastoma & her mom Trisha’s Hashimoto’s Story. Make It Good - Ep. 3

+ Belle's request : Chick-fil-A Copycat Chicken Nuggets
7

Happy Monday, Friends!

Welcome back to the Make It Good video series! Every so often, I will be bringing you conversations with inspiring members of our community. After our conversation, I’m jumping into my test kitchen to develop a recipe remake that they personally requested!

Be it Flan, Dulce de Leche Cake, Chick-fil-A chicken nuggets, or Milano cookies, it’s my mission in life to take your favorite recipe and Make It Good (again), with healthier ingredients that both your body and your tastebuds will love.

We will be chatting about their own health journeys, how they’ve found healing with food, how they’re finding purpose in their pain, and how they’re individually making good of their unique hardships and situations.

A Concept Brewing For Years

This idea came after my 2019 national book tour. During the audience Q&A sessions, women shared their stories of healing and joy through food after facing challenges like celiac, ulcerative colitis, Hashimoto's, RA, MS, cancer, or food allergies.

Each night, I watched from the stage as their stories washed over the faces of fellow attendees, resonating deeply and making them feel less alone and seen. It was like they were sitting next to a community of fighters who, though strangers, understood each other’s pain.

Inspired, I returned home from the tour and began writing Food Saved Me to help others feel supported. I included many of the stories shared on tour, and have dreamt of a place to interview these women further ever since.

Now, on Substack, I have a space where these stories can live and inspire others.


Belle and Trisha

In this very special first interview, I had the opportunity to sit down with a family I met in Disneyland last year that has been on my heart ever since. Belle (15) and her mom Trisha shared vulnerably about Belle’s fight with Neuroblastoma Cancer, and Trisha’s own journey with Hashimoto. I think you will really enjoy hearing from them both. Their hope and positivity radiated through the zoom screen!

After you’ve had a chance to listen to our chat, you can follow along with Belle’s journey here:

Share


Belle’s Grain-Free Remake Request

CHICK-FIL-A Chicken Nuggets and dipping sauces!

I know you will especially LOVE Belle’s recipe request at the end of our conversation!

I’ve been hard at work in the test kitchen getting it exactly right, and it will be emailed this Thursday morning for paid subscribers! My kids have been the very thankful recipients of the 12 test batches it took to MAKE IT GOOD!


Don’t miss Belle’s recipe once it’s perfected!

If you are on the free subscription plan, consider upgrading for less than $1 a recipe ($5 a month or discounted to $50 a year) to unlock each and every new recipe weekly plus the archives, instructional videos, access to the community, Q&As with me personally, and the comment section!


Leave a comment

7 Comments